Working With Disk Snapshots
If you want to save a disk's configuration, you can create a snapshot to re-use later.
Please note that you can only create snapshots of persistent disks.
Creating a Snapshot
After configuring your disk, click Provision.
After the disk has been provisioned, open the actions menu and choose Create Snapshot.
A new dialog box will appear. Enter a Snapshot Name. This field can only include lowercase letters, numbers, and single dashes.
Click Create.
You'll see the message The snapshot is being created. This process may take a few minutes.
You'll be able to load your snapshot when configuring a disk of the same type (Azure Disk snapshots can only be loaded on other Azure Disks, for example). On the disk's Definition page, set Restore Snapshot to Yes, then select a saved snapshot from the Snapshot dropdown menu.
Your snapshot will also appear on the Snapshots page.
Deleting a Snapshot
Navigate to Snapshots. Open the actions menu on the snapshot you'd like to remove and choose Delete snapshot .
You'll see the message The snapshot is being deleted. This process may take a few minutes. The snapshot's Provisioned Status will display as Deleted. After one hour, the snapshot will be removed from your dashboard.
Sharing a Snapshot
Navigate to Snapshots.
Hover over the snapshot's row and click the Manage access icon.
In the drawer that opens, select the group(s) you want to share the snapshot with. You'll see the message Permission updated successfully.