SC26AI agents lab + dinner on the river · Nov 17
Parallel Works

Managing Groups

This page explains how to create, edit, and delete groups on ACTIVATE. Groups are used to assign user permissions, share allocations and resources with users, and decide who receives allocation threshold alerts.

From the Organizations list, select your organization. In the sidebar, click Groups.

Listing Groups

All groups in your organization are listed in a table with the following columns:

  • Name: opens the group's edit page
  • Members: the number of users in the group
  • Description: the group's description
  • Created: the date the group was created

Use the Filter groups field to filter groups by name.

Groups don't hold budgets. To give a group's members something to bill, share an allocation with the group.

Creating a Group

  1. On the Groups page, click Add Group in the top right corner.

  2. Enter a Name for your group. The name input automatically removes special characters and only allows alphanumeric characters, dashes, and underscores.

  3. Optionally, enter a Description.

  4. Click Create Group to submit.

You will be redirected to the groups list on success, where your new group will appear in the table.

Editing a Group

Click a group name in the table to open the group edit page. The edit page has three sections: Manage Description, Manage Roles, and Manage Members.

Manage Description

Use the text input to update the group's description. Click Save Description to save your changes.

Manage Roles

This section displays four role checkboxes that control what permissions members of the group have within your organization:

  • org:admin — Full control over an organization
  • org:settings — Can manage organization settings
  • org:users — Can create and manage users
  • org:groups — Can create and manage groups, except groups with the org:admin role

Check or uncheck the roles as needed, then click Save Roles to apply your changes immediately.

Manage Members

Use the dropdown search field to find and add organization users to the group. Select a user from the dropdown to add them as a member.

Current group members are displayed in a table with the following columns:

  • Members — the member's username
  • Email — the member's email address
  • Delete — a trash icon to remove the member from the group

To remove a member, click the trash icon next to their name. The user will be removed from the group immediately.

About Removing Members

Removing a user from a group only affects their group-based permissions and resource allocations. Their account and their access to ACTIVATE will not be affected.

Deleting a Group

  1. In the groups table, click the trash icon on the row of the group you want to delete.

  2. A confirmation modal will appear: "Are you sure you want to delete this group?"

  3. Click Confirm to delete the group.